During 2021, there were 378 work zone intrusions on New York state roads maintained by the State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) and Thruway Authority (NYSTA). A work zone intrusion is defined as an incident where a motor vehicle has entered a portion of the roadway that is closed due to construction or maintenance activity. More than 50 of those intrusions resulted in injuries to either a highway worker or vehicle occupant.
The Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement (AWZSE) program is the result of legislation signed into law by Governor Hochul in September 2021. This five-year program is a joint effort by NYSDOT and the NYSTA to enhance the state’s ongoing efforts to slow motorists down in work zones to make our highways safer.
New York Vehicle & Traffic Law § 1180-E authorizes the establishment of an automated work zone speed enforcement demonstration program. The NYSDOT and the NYSTA may impose a fine on the registered owner of a vehicle speeding in a work zone on a controlled access highway.
What to know:
- Work zone speed enforcement will be located in construction or maintenance zones on New York State controlled access highways and parkways.
- Work zones with Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement will have clear signage leading up to the work zone.
- Each enforcement system is run through a daily self-check before capturing violations.
- After the initial warning period, if the driver of a vehicle fails to comply with the posted speed limit, the owner of that vehicle will receive a Notice of Liability in the mail.
Speed Enforcement Process
Speed Enforcement Process
How it Works:
- The system uses radar to identify any vehicle traveling equal to or faster than the posted speed limit, triggering the system to capture photos and the speed of the passing vehicle.
- A series of images are captured of the vehicle as it approaches and passes the speed safety camera, including two photos of the back of the vehicle, to show the distance and time of travel.
- The data collected, including the time, date, posted speed, vehicle speed, location, lane, and direction of travel is collected.
- The license plate information is used to identify the registered owner of the vehicle captured.
- A NYS Certified Technician reviews the violation and certifies that the information collected is correct.
- A Notice of Liability is then created and mailed via first class mail to the registered owner of the vehicle.
Penalties and Fines
Penalties and Fines
A Notice of Liability will be mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle within 14 business days if the owner is a resident of New York state, and within 45 business days if the owner is not a New York state resident.
- First Violation: $50 fine
- Second Violation: $75 fine if within an 18-month period of first violation
- Third and Subsequent Violations: $100 fine if within an 18-month period of first violation
These fines are subject to additional late fees.
Violators will be able to contest a work zone Notice of Liability by logging into the program violation processing website where violators can submit documentation on reasons outlined as allowable defenses by the legislation.
Failure to pay fines may result in a registration hold placed on the vehicle.
What are work zone speed enforcement units?
NYSDOT and NYSTA will employ automated speed enforcement units that detect unlawful speeding in a work zone at specified construction and maintenance work sites during specified hours of operation. Designed to comply with state and local laws, the technology also includes all hardware, software, and services required to compile the evidence package to submit to the courts.
What is the goal of the Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement Program?
The goal of the program is to reduce speeds, improve driver behavior, save worker and traveler lives in work zones, complement existing work zone enforcement by the New York State Police, and promote work zone safety.
Where are the enforcement zones?
In accordance with the state statute (1180-E(a)), enforcement may occur in any work zones located on a controlled access highway—or any roadway within the state designated for high-speed vehicular traffic.
How many locations will go live?
There will be 30 work zone speed units launching in April 2023 that will be moved around to work zones throughout the state.
Will there be a warning period for each work zone speed enforcement unit deployed or each construction season?
No, the warning period for the entirety of the program began on April 17, 2023 and ended on May 16, 2023. There will be no additional warning periods moving forward.
How long does it take to receive a Notice of Liability in the mail?
For the vehicles registered in New York State, a Notice of Liability will be sent to the registered owner of the vehicle within 14 business days from the incident. For vehicles registered in a state other than New York State, Notices of Liability will be mailed within 45 business days from the incident.
How will I know I am in a work zone? Will signs be present?
Appropriate and visible signage will be present at each work zone speed enforcement location.
Will workers be present and/or signs posted indicating the speed was photo-enforced?
Yes, Vehicle and Traffic Law 1180-e requires workers to be present and a sign(s) to be posted that the photo speed violation monitoring system is being used. To meet this requirement, the Speed Enforcement Contractor has Standard Operating Procedures they must adhere to. Part of those procedures are to confirm the presence of workers on site and to deploy the “Work Zone Photo Enforced” signs.
Where are the enforcement units located and how are the sites selected?
To maximize the program's flexibility and impact, the enforcement units used in work zones are deployed in sport-utility vehicles referred to as “mobile units.” A mobile unit can be located within the limits of any work zone on interstates, parkways, and other controlled access highways. NYSDOT and NYSTA use a variety of factors to determine mobile unit deployment locations, including roadway and work zone characteristics, such as facility type, speed limit, temporary traffic control activities and whether traditional in-person enforcement is viable.
Who reviews the Notice of Liability?
All violations will be reviewed and certified by NYS Certified Technicians from NYSDOT and NYSTA before a Notice of Liability will be issued.
What is the fine amount for a work zone speed safety violation?
The first-time violation amount is $50. The second violation within an 18-month period will be $75. Three or more violations within an 18-month period will be $100. These violations are base penalties subject to additional late fees.
How do I pay a Notice of Liability?
Violators will be able to log in to the violation processing website and enter their citation and PIN number to access their notice, view the images and video, and determine their options for payment. Additional options for fine payment include:
- PAY ONLINE: Payment can be made by credit or debit card at nysworkzone.photonotice.com using the notice number, license plate number and PIN provided. There is a convenience fee of $3.75 for credit and debit card payments.
- PAY BY PHONE: Call (toll free) 1-833-268-8120. You will need to provide the notice number, license plate number, and PIN provided. There is a convenience fee of $3.75 for credit and debit card payments by phone.
- PAY BY MAIL: Make your check or money order payable to the NYS Work Zone Speed Enforcement Program. Be sure to include the notice number, license plate number, and the state of registration on the face of your payment.
What is the official address for me to mail my response/payment to?
The address to mail your response to is:
NYS Work Zone Speed Enforcement Program
PO Box 8418
Philadelphia, PA 19101
What is the process to dispute the Notice of Liability?
To dispute the Notice of Liability, there is a “Dispute Coupon” attached to the Notice which must be completed and mailed or the “Dispute the Notice of Liability” on the website must be completed. Proper documentation must be submitted to support the dispute option selected from the three choices. If the dispute is not related to one of the three choices, the coupon may be mailed with an explanation of the dispute or if disputing via the website such dispute explanation is noted on the electronic form.
The dispute will be reviewed and the Notice will either be dismissed provided acceptable documentation has been submitted, or denied with an option to pay the Notice or alternatively be referred to the appropriate court for a hearing.
The speed limit of the highway is posted, but there was not a specific speed limit for the work zone posted. What is the work zone speed?
If no specific work zone speed limit is posted, the speed limit is the same speed limit as the posted highway speed.
Will points be assessed against my driver’s license?
Points will not be assessed against your driver’s license for any Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement Violations. These penalties are civil in nature, with no criminal implications.
Will this violation be sent to my insurance company?
No, Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement violations will not be sent to insurance companies.
What if I wasn’t driving my car at the time of the violation? Am I still responsible for paying the fine?
The registered owner of the vehicle referenced receives a Notice of Liability in the mail and is responsible for the imposed fine.
How is revenue from the fines used?
Fines collected as part of the program will cover expenditures related to the program. If all expenditures related to the program are covered, any excess revenue will be used for work zone safety initiatives.
How often are the speed enforcement systems checked for accuracy?
The Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement systems are required, by law, to be recalibrated and recertified on an annual basis. The calibration and certification are valid for 365 days from the certification date. The system runs daily self-tests to ensure all aspects of the system are operating properly at the start and end of each enforcement period.
NYSDOT may deploy the Automated Work Zone Speed Monitoring mobile units at the following list of scheduled work zones on eligible roadways. This list is not comprehensive of all work on eligible NYS highways. Locations and the durations of the mobile units each day will change based on work schedules, weather, and priorities. Final positioning of the units will be determined the morning of each deployment.
Automated Work Zone Speed Enforcement Locations for Feb. 26-March 1, 2024