New York State’s Sex Offender Registry was created by the state’s Sex Offender Registration Act. It is intended to provide the public with information on the status and location of sex offenders residing in New York State.
What are the listed offender levels?
The type of information that is available to the public about an offender depends on an offender’s risk level, of which there are three:
- Level 1: low risk of re-offense: Residence information for these offenders is limited to zip code information.
- Level 2: medium risk of re-offense: Complete residence address is available for these offenders
- Level 3: high risk of re-offense: Complete residence address is available for these offenders
Offenders are listed by their real names and any aliases. A variety of information is available, including:
- Residence address(es)
- Work address(es)
- Crime of conviction
- Vehicle information
- Conditions of supervision (parole or probation)
Multiple photos, names/aliases and home/work addresses are made available on the Registry, as they become available and when applicable.
You'll need to following information to complete a sex offender search online:
- Last name of offender
- County where you/offender live
- Zip Code
Search the Public Registry of Sex Offenders:
DCJS has also created a Facebook application to make the online directory more readily accessible by allowing users to remain on Facebook while accessing the Registry. The Sex Offender Locator Application is accessible via the New York State Public Safety Facebook page. Click on the “Locate Sex Offenders” link.
eAlerts through NY-ALERT In addition to providing information about Level 2 and 3 offenders via the DCJS website and Facebook, New Yorkers may sign up to receive alerts via e-mail, text, fax or telephone whenever an offender moves to, or from, a community of interest – their home, work or child’s school, for example.
DCJS offers sex offender relocation notices through the state’s NY-ALERT system. Individuals can register up to three locations, either by county/municipality, zip code or specific address, or any combination of those three options, for which they would like to receive relocation alerts.
You may also call the toll-free telephone number if you choose to search the registry that way. Callers must have a name and ONE identifier to find out if the individual is a registered sex offender in New York State.
Those identifiers are:
- An exact address
- Date of birth
- Driver’s license or non-driver’s ID number
- Social Security Number
The Registry is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Was this article helpful to you?
We need your feedback to improve NY.gov.