Improving the Way New York's Justice System Treats Young People
The FY 2018 Budget includes legislation to raise the age of criminal responsibility to 18 years of age. New York was previously one of only two states that automatically prosecuted 16- and 17-year-olds as adults. This injustice unfairly punished youth and prevented them from receiving the services they need to rehabilitate themselves and re-integrate into their communities. New York’s youth who commit non-violent crimes will now receive age-appropriate housing and programming to lower their risk of re-offense.
Raise the Age Implementation Task Force
A team of social service and law enforcement experts will evaluate state and local efforts to implement the groundbreaking Raise the Age law.
Age of Criminal Responsibility Raised to 18-years-old
All 16- and 17-year-olds who commit non-violent crimes will receive the intervention and evidence-based treatment they need.
Specialized Juvenile Detention Facilities
Rather than adult jails and prisons, young people will be placed in specialized juvenile detention facilities certified by the State Office of Children and Family Services, in conjunction with the State Commission of Correction.
The Raise the Age legislation will take effect for 16-year-olds on October 1, 2018 and 17-year-olds on October 1, 2019.
You are leaving the official State of New York website.
The State of New York does not imply approval of the listed destinations, warrant the accuracy of any information set out in those destinations, or endorse any opinions expressed therein. External web sites operate at the direction of their respective owners who should be contacted directly with questions regarding the content of these sites.