Raising the Minimum Wage to $15
The statewide $15 minimum wage was enacted as part of the 2016-17 State Budget. The Minimum Wage rates are scheduled to increase each year on 12/31 until they reach $15.00 per hour.
A statutorily required report by the Division of the Budget found evidence of pressure for wages to rise in the midst of a pandemic-driven labor shortage. On December 31, 2021, the minimum wage increased to $15 per hour on Long Island and in Westchester, matching the $15 hourly minimum already set in New York City. The Director of the Division of Budget, together with the Commissioner of Labor, determined that the minimum wage should rise to $14.20 per hour in the rest of the state based upon economic factors and indices.
The wage increases are calibrated by industry and by region in order to provide businesses ample time to adjust. Additional information is available for tipped, fast food and other workers not covered by the general wage.
Information for Workers
New York State's Minimum Wage
Find out more information about the statewide minimum wage increases and what to expect.
File a Complaint
If you're not getting paid your minimum wage, find out how you can file a complaint.
Information for Businesses
Business Responsibilities Under the Law
Find out how the statewide minimum wage increase will impact your business and learn about your responsibilities as an employer.
Request Information and Documents
Businesses can request additional information and documents and learn more about employment laws.
Minimum Wage Increase
The statewide $15 minimum wage will lift the earnings of about a quarter of the state’s total workforce and result in $15.7 billion of direct economic gains.
Raising the minimum wage to $15 restores a promise of fairness.