New York State Paid Family Leave

TOP New York State Paid Family Leave

Paid Family Leave

Paving the Way to the Nation's Strongest Paid Family Leave Policy

In 2016, Governor Cuomo signed into law the nation’s strongest and most comprehensive Paid Family Leave policy. Working families will no longer have to choose between caring for their loved ones and risking their economic security.

Starting January 1, 2018, the New York State Paid Family Leave Program will provide New Yorkers job-protected, paid leave to bond with a new child, care for a loved one with a serious health condition or to help relieve family pressures when someone is called to active military service.

Establishing Paid Family Leave marks a pivotal next step in the pursuit of equality and dignity in both the workplace and home.


Putting Loved Ones First

Maternity & Paternity Leave

Whether you are expecting, fostering or adopting a child, you deserve to take time to care for your child without having to risk your economic security.

Caring for a Loved One

The time you spend caring for a loved one with a serious health condition is critical, whether it be a child, parent, parent-in-law, grandchild, grandparent, spouse or domestic partner.

Military Service

Paid Family Leave enables loved ones to spend time with those called to active military service and alleviates the pressure of working and caring for a child while a loved one is away.

Paid Family Leave: It's Your Right

What You Need to Know

Employers

Learn more about Paid Family Leave and what you need to know as an employer.

Health Care Providers

Find out what is required from health care providers under Paid Family Leave.

Employees

Employees with a regular schedule of 20 or more hours per week are eligible after 26 weeks of employment or with a regular schedule of less than 20 hours per week after 175 days worked.

Resources

Questions? Call the Paid Family Leave Helpline at 844-337-6303 from 8:30am – 4:30pm ET, Monday - Friday

Paid Family Leave: Family Matters

Helping New Yorkers in Need

Eligibility

Employees with a regular schedule of 20 or more hours per week are eligible after 26 weeks of employment or with a regular schedule of less than 20 hours per week after 175 days worked.

Applying for Benefits

For the first year of the program, employees can take up to eight weeks of paid family leave, with a weekly benefit of 50% of the employee’s average weekly wage. 

Press Release

Read the press release to learn more about the Paid Family Leave policy. 

Stay Informed